Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Waiting On Wednesday: The Dark Between

The Dark Between
Author: Sonia Gensler
Publisher: Knopf Books
Publication Date: August 27, 2013

Synopsis:A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.
At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.
Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.
My Thoughts:
You had me at Sarah Rees Brennan! Sarah is one of my favorite authors and any blurb that mentions her is going to get my notice. Add in a seances, a creepy college, and bridging the gap between this world and the beyond and you have my attention. I am now not so patiently waiting on The Dark Between!


  1. Great pick! I agree with the Sarah Rees Brennan comment haha. Normally I'm not a big dark/creepy ghost genre kinda of person but this one sounds really interesting! The cover's nice and spooky too!

    Here's my WoW at Bookmunchies (:

  2. This sounds really good. Adding it to my TBR list now. :)

  3. Wow, this one sounds very interesting! The mention of Sarah Rees Brennan and Libba Bray certainly doesn't hurt! The cover is different and quite spooky, too. Nice pick :)

  4. Eeek!! This sounds creepy, even the cover looks creepy! Perfect scary read on a cold day ;)

  5. Great pick. Hope you get to read it soon!
    <3 Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  6. This one looks very cool! I've never heard of it before but now I'm definitely checking it out. And I need to read a Sarah Rees Brennnan novel too! Great pick :)

  7. ooooh this sounds really good and different! (: So adding this to my tbr, awesome pick hun! (:

    Haley @ YA-Aholic

  8. You had me at supernatural romance! Thanks for the suggestion. This looks excellent! GFC follower:)